Uncategorized

Pictures, why are they suddenly hard?

I keep thinking about you sweet blog and you know why? Because I have all kinds of stuff to post on you. But I don’t have any pictures! A blog post without pictures? Why the hell did you even show up to class/the Internet today without doing the reading?

But I have been busy! Kind of. Well there were a few months there where I wasn’t busy. I was actually very incredibly lame. Nobody comes here for excuses though, right? (Or maybe that’s all you come here for? Sometimes I get pretty creative on the excuses.)

Maybe what I need to do is make more stuff for other people. Because when I know the project is going to be walking out the door I’m like, crap! I better take a picture of that before it’s gone forever.

I started this baby toy a while back and felt really good because I’d done the base in a night. Then it sat in a bag next to the steps for a few months and suddenly the baby it was intended for decided to show up. So, of course, I had to do a last minute all-nighter (it’s okay, I had a lot of Pretty Little Liars to watch) to finish it up and take it to the new parents.

Honestly, I need to figure out why, in my brain I keep thinking- baby? Crochet! Because I’m a knitter and these crochet things are actually kind of cool… although also out of my league. Like I had to ask my friend Miranda how to sew because every now and then I think, I can sew! Then I look at the sewing machine and I’m like, no brain, that was a lie.

Also- that green pole? That was the most uncomfortable experience of my crafting career. I kept stuffing it and trying to make it firm and having to smooth out the weird overstuffed parts. The whole time I was like:

This makes me feel kinda funny, like when we used to climb the rope in gym class.

Thanks, Garth

I think the recipient is still a little young for the toy but maybe someday she’ll want to slobber on it. Hopefully. One thing is for certain, she’s super cute:

 

The pattern is the pond friends stacking toy but I couldn’t make the rings look like pond friends. One, there were a lot of instructions and I can’t think straight lately (also: crochet). Two, I have a bunch of yarn laying around but not all the same colors, so I was like, let’s just go in this pink/purple direction and use up some stash. Those aren’t excuses, right?

Hey, here’s a hat!

 

A year ago we went to California and I bought some yarn… even though I ::technically:: wasn’t buying yarn last year. I gave it to John as a Christmas present and wrote ‘future hat’ on the side. I felt pretty clever because, any time in the future is the future. I mean, it could be a five years down the road hat. But I kept seeing it (he kept it by the bed, smart dude) and feeling bad so I made him this hat!

Okay, somebody come over here and make me take pictures of the two other projects I’ve finished and we’ll be good to go.

 

5 thoughts on “Pictures, why are they suddenly hard?

    1. It was harder for me to stuff the toy in the end. I mostly took the easy way out on it by not doing the fancy stuff the pattern originally called for. I’m still trying to get a consistent stitch when I crochet. My knitting is pretty even from doing it over time. I’m still trying to figure out what is going on, even with the very basic crochet stitch. I really like making these easy baby toys in crochet but I feel bad when I give people these things that I see all the lumps and bumps in. Especially since Steggo is a crocheter herself, she probably sees where I still don’t have a good stitch consistency.

      1. It seems like we see the flaws in something that we make more than others see flaws in what we make.

    1. Dude, you and me both. I was surprised to actually get that toy done. I’d pretty much given up on doing anything worthwhile but then I was like, stop making excuses. Everyone else is kicking ass lately, you need to get on that train- toot toot!

Leave a comment