Uncategorized

Beast!

I feel like a beast!

I mean, lets be honest, my recent posts have been exemplary in “let down”. Because I’ve been feeling down about knitting lately. It’s kind of like something that sort of sits in every room, on every clear surface and laughs at me. Ha ha ha, you can’t finish a project to save your cats.

Knitting and me have a real schizophrenic relationship. One second I’m like, how freaking awesome is knitting guys??!! Then the next second I’m like, psht, knitting, whatevs. Because it starts to feel like an obligation. Or I start to feel pressured. Down with the man!

But that’s not what I’m here to talk about. I’m here to talk about Christmas. Because it’s a-coming, ho ho ho.

So, I went into my LYS and I said, guys, I’m real low but I need to get on this Christmas knitting thing like ASAP. After they felt some pity for my shabby state, they threw a pattern and some yarn my way. I didn’t have to do any of the work, it was amazing. Because they rock!

This is what came of that:

The Scary Man Hat, for Rob. In good ole Scarlet and Gray.

I knit the first row of each color change to prevent those funky lines. I did my own thing with the colors and I thought this looked more ‘professional’ and less ‘knit by a crazy sister in law’. But people will see right through that in a second. Robby got into ARC so hopefully this snazzy hat will let people know that he’s high up on the totem pole. I’m so excited for him and I’m so excited to have a Christmas present done.:D

It’s crazy though, something this satisfying really spurred me on. They said that I’d have enough yarn to do another one of those hats in contrasting colors… but Ryan isn’t like Rob really at all. Actually Ryan is a totally sort of seperate part of the family, like a satelite floating out in space… all spacey.

So he gets:

Swell, for Ryan. Modeled reluctantly by John.

I saw this hat a while ago and thought it would be a good hat for Ryan but I felt intimidated by it. I don’t know why but I honestly think it was the earflaps that were freaking me out. Then I remembered- wait, I don’t take crap from knitting, it takes crap from me!

Because one day I woke up and decided that I could do anything in knitting. I just could. If there was something I didn’t understand I would ask someone or watch something online but the only thing standing in my way of true and total knitting domination is myself. Well, not anymore.

So I cast this hat on during some SNL presidential recap thing. Didn’t knit any on it last night since I forgot my pattern when I went over to Elaine’s. (D’oh!) But still managed to finish it today because it demanded to be done. Plus I’m all over colors lately. Colors are so nice and exciting to knit; when they’re different.

So now I’m wondering… why don’t I knit hats every day? I saw Kim’s Felicity and I’m thinking I might make one for my friend. Maybe. I dunno:

5 thoughts on “Beast!

  1. I lost your blog site for a long time. My computer crashed and I lost almost everything! But tonight I was just sitting here doing a lot of nothing and all of a sudden your blog’s title popped into my head. Don’t ask me how or why. It just happened. I plugged it into my search engine and low and behold, your blog appeared, as if by magic on my screen. And if that wasn’t enough of a crazy thing, you had hat patterns on it! I have been looking for some for several days now and there they were – right before my eyes! Your hats look great by the way! And you’re right! You CAN do anything!

  2. I say go for it! Hats are instant gratification (at least in the knitting world) and it would be another hat, but something a little different πŸ™‚

  3. WERD!
    your hats look great! good job! I’ve been on a finishing roll lately. Did some slippers and a hat. I’m really loving color work right now too… good stuff!

  4. Dang, now why didn’t I remember to knit the row of stripes to prevent the wonky color change thing? I’m too far along on the scarf to change now. If only I could remember what I know, life would be easier πŸ™‚

    Very nice hats, btw…..and the beast, well, uh. Ok

  5. what you wrote about your schizophrenic relationship with knitting is perfectly understandable. I feel the same way, just came back from a 3 month long knitting pause. nice blog btw πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

