Uncategorized

I made that!

I’m so pumped guys.

I saw something in my head that I wanted to make and I went for it. I ripped out the same couple yards of yarn a few hundred times, realized the silk doesn’t rip so well and did it in acrylic- but I learned and feel like I’m a slightly better person for it. So without much more ra ra ra, I give you the Face Punch Relaxation Mask:

Someone please pretend they’re proud of me.

I’ve been coveting some Debbie Bliss Pure Silk for months. However I had no idea what to make with it. I wanted to make a body suit but that would put us in some horrific debt. So I got a skein and what follows is the pattern.

Face Punch Relaxation Mask

CO 48 sts. (I used size 6 DPNs, gauge isn’t super important.) Divide evenly onto 3 needles. (16 sts on each needle.) Join in the round being careful not to twist. Place marker if that’s your thing (it’s my thing too).

Row 1: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 2: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 3: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, C4B, C4F, p4

Row 4: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 5: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 6: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 7: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, C4B, C4F, p4

Row 8: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 9: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 10: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 11: [p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, C4F, C4B, p4

Row 12: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 13: p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 14: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Row 15: p1, k1] 4 times, k16, [k1, p1] 4 times, p4, C4F, C4B, p4

Row 16: [k1, p1] 4 times, k16, [p1, k1] 4 times, p4, k8, p4

Repeat all 16 rows three more times (so you do the pattern four times total).

Sew the first edges (where you cast on) together. Then take a stocking (I cut out the foot of some pantyhose) and fill it with flax seed and lavendar flowers… or anything that you like the smell of! The flax seed gives it some weight and makes it so you can warm it up in the microwave, for warmth. Or throw it in the freezer for a few mintues, for cool(th). Tie off the stocking or sew it up, stuff it into the pouch and either kitchener the last stitches or bind off and sew those together… I kitchener’d mine. 😀

This is the type of project to justify buying one skein of luxury yarn and the cables are super easy, even for a person who has never done cables before.

C4F means: slide two stitches onto a needle and hold to the front, then knit the following two stitches then knit the stitches on the front needle.

C4B means: slide two stitches onto a needle and hold to the back, then knit the following two stitches then knit the stitches on the back needle.

Boys like it too!

Be warned though, depending on how much you stuff it full of flax seed, this thing can pack a serious punch:

However, what’s more relaxing than a nice punch in the face?

Let me know what you think… if there’s anything I can do to make the pattern better, let me know!

P.S. My favorite number is 8.

8 thoughts on “I made that!

  1. Not only is it lovely, it’s useful too! And, anything that’s been feline-approved has got to be fantastic. ;o)
    Congratulations!

  2. I am proud that you made up a pattern–you are so much far ahead of me. What a good idea, think I will get some expensive yarn and knit one. I also love the color…..

Leave a Reply

