Uncategorized

Happy Valentine’s Day!


For my Irish Valentine ❤

I know it’s a day early but I figured, hey, I’m thinking about it, so I should probably do a post before I get back in bed and overdose on antibiotics. (I have the strep, like I get every year. This year I preemptive striked it by seeing a new doctor near our new place who wears some really swanky shoes. However, it was not preemptive enough apparently.)

Pattern: Be My Dishcloth by Kristen Patay

Yarn: Lily Sugar ‘n Cream solid in green

I don’t know how smart it is to knit a dishcloth for a boy for Valentine’s day. He’s such a weird boy that I’m hoping he’ll see it and say it’s the most perfect gift he’s ever gotten. However, I’m sure he would rather have an XBOX 360. Although in my mind, they’re pretty much the same thing, only this is useful. Poor guy. (We got the tulips at the grocery store the other day, they’re my favorite flower! I don’t know if it’s because I think they’re pretty, I’m pretty sure it’s because I think they’re smart.)

Also, this one has been brewing for a while but just in case she ever checks this blog (which I’m pretty sure she doesn’t) I didn’t want to put up the pictures of them finished. So here are the socks I knit for my Granma, she got them in time for Valentine’s Day!

Pattern: Hedera by Cookie A.

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Sock in Periwinkle.

This was an edge of the seat nail biter type knit because I was so paranoid that they wouldn’t fit. That she’d be allergic to the wool. That I’d accidentally knit in one of those seven year chain mail curses and then she’d have to send socks out to fifteen people or it would be seven years of raining toads or something. Because… that happens all the time, right?

However, she maintains that she loves them:


My poor aunt Gerri got suckered into taking this picture and sending it to me.

socks! in! action!

Oh man, just typing that has taken all of my energy. (Also, I’m going to randomly insert here that my aunt Gerri is married to my uncle Tom. How freaking cool is that? Tom and Gerri, I love it!)

As for the socks, they were a great knit once I finally decided to set the shawl aside and just focus on the socks to get them done before Valentine’s day as a nice sort of present. I of course can see all the mistakes (especially the row where I don’t know what I was doing but it certainly wasn’t the pattern!) but Granma maintains that I’m the best knitter in the world and she’s proud of me, so… I guess I really can’t disagree with the woman.


Sax was irritated I got in the way of her silhouette campaign photo.

Socks, a dishcloth- whoa. I guess February really is the month to get thangs done. Like sleeping, I think I’ll get that done right now.

9 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Your Grandma stories warm the cockles of my heart. Reminds me of my Grammy. 🙂 Sax is beautiful as always. I hope you feel better very soon!

  2. Good point about the raglan business. I hadn’t thought of that. It isn’t a whole lot of knitting to get to the point I’m at so I feel like it won’t be too big a deal if I have frog and reknit.

  3. Great socks! And the dishcloth looks very nice too! Good work! Sax, as always, is gorgeous too! Hope you feel better soon. And if not, just use the time to knit, knit knit!

  4. Lindsey, here is your granma and I really do think the socks are the neatest socks ever and your knitting is wonderful, you make me proud. Of course, I love the green (Irish) dishcloth–I try to keep the Irish going on our side of the family as much as possible–those green shakes at MacDonald’s in March are the best–have they got them in Columbus, Ohio yet? Today is March 1st so the green shakes should be ready and waiting today.

Leave a Reply

