Uncategorized

A story about my dad…


I didn’t edit this picture… he’s just wearing two pairs of sunglasses.

My dad is an enigma. Sometimes infuriating and sometimes really great, he’s a mixed bag- you never know what you’re going to get with my dad. Anyways, my parents don’t get along, which leads to stories both terrible and hilarious, one of which involves my birth certificate. Neither of which will take credit for losing it.

However, when I got home from my trip to Minnesota I realized that I had lost my license and in order to get one I needed a copy of my birth certificate. My dad’s solution:


My baptism certificate.

I was like, what, in case I get Jesus at the BMV? Good looking out dad.

But Christmas time is rolling around (had you noticed?) and of course, he needs a list of what to get me. To which I’m like, yarn! BUT very specific yarn. Poor guy. So I tell him specifically what yarn I want and his head almost explodes. Which means that I have to spell things out and he’s scribbling all of this nonsense down about what color and what type of yarn and you can just hear the strain in his voice. You know, that ” oh man, I love you but I have absolutely no clue what you are talking about right now” kind of panic creeps into his voice.

Today he just quit fronting. He called me and was like: “Yeah, so about that yarn… How about I just give you my credit card number and you buy it and send it to the house. Then maybe you can act surprised when you open it or something.”

On a completely unrelated note, knitpicks anybody? 😀

3 thoughts on “A story about my dad…

  1. Ok you suckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk! LOL I say that because I have a similar story with a not so similar ending…. I asked for money for yarn on my Christmas list and I was told “I have three boxes of yarn you can have”. You just know its not the yarn I really want. I forsee some donation knitting in my future.

    At least one of us will get the yarn we really want for Christmas…. You go!

  2. Yay yarn gifts! My DIL is the only one who is willing to give me yarn gift certificates, everyone else ignores the idea. I can’t wait to see what you get!

Leave a Reply

