Waging a war

I’d always kind of known it in the back of my head that I’d been waging a war against scarves. Whenever someone would bring up a scarf, I’d pretend that I’d gone deaf. It seems like when people know you can knit, they expect you to just magically produce a scarf on demand for them.

When I started knitting, all I knit were scarves and not very good ones either. I didn’t know how to purl or do anything cool, so they were just long ass garter stitch scarves. After I learned how to purl, there was no going back for me. That was BP (before purling) and I was in the new age, the AP.

Then my (other) Granma asked me to make her a scarf. Like blunt force, to my face said “scarf.” It was my fault for asking her and she’s seen me knit so many other things that I figured scarf wasn’t even on the radar anymore. The predator had left, it was free to leave the den or whatever.

Nope. Scarf or nothing.

I made the mistake of asking my mom for advice. We even went to a yarn store together looking for the right color ‘dark green’ and struck out. (Most people, okay, probably all people, think saying dark green is descriptive enough but it’s not. Especially when you’re making something for the type of person who usually has something specific in their mind but won’t actually describe it for you. They just tell you when it’s not what they wanted.) Then once I’d ordered the yarn from knitpicks my mom still had constant feedback.

Mostly, don’t make it long! She’s not a giantess like you.

I’m 5’5! Gah!

The hardest part about posting in the winter is not just the fact that I’m talking about a scarf. (Really? Who cares, right?) It’s taking pictures. I hate taking pictures in the winter of myself. I don’t even know how to begin to take pictures of a scarf. But I really liked knitting this scarf. I’ll deny that later.

Maybe I liked it because it was short. (Thanks mom, I guess.) Or because it wasn’t just straight knitknitknit. To create the ruffles it was all short row shaping.

If you’re in the market for a scarf, definitely check it out. If you think this is an open invitation to ask me to knit a scarf for you: gtfo.

 

8 responses to “Waging a war

  1. I always assumed knitters always knitted scarfs in their spare time. Sort of like Nascar drivers keeping their tires warm during the yellow flag.

  2. Thank you for your kind words about the ruffled scarf. I’m glad you enjoyed making it. :) Pam MacKenzie (InStitches blogger)

    • Thanks for stopping by! Also, thanks for posting a pattern that didn’t make me want to gouge my eyes out by the end of it. :)

  3. Do you sell the stuff that you knit? Because the stuff that you make is beautiful!

    P. S. I love your Gravetar :-)

    • Thanks for the comment! :) I don’t sell the stuff I knit unless it’s an original pattern because most patterns don’t want you selling their stuff and I try to be honest. I’ve thought about selling some things but usually end up making people stuff for gifts instead.

      Your blog is great! I hope you’re keeping up on it. ;)

  4. Pingback: 2012 Project: Marin (for Mom) | Apocaknits

Leave a Reply

